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I.	GENERAL 
Arizona voters enacted the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA), A.R.S. §§ 36–2801-2819, by ballot initiative in 2010. State v. Gear, 239 Ariz. 343, ¶ 2 (2016). Generally, the AMMA authorizes medical use of marijuana and immunizes qualified patients and designated caregivers from criminal prosecution in certain circumstances relating to the purchase and possession of marijuana. Parsons v. ADHS, 242 Ariz. 320, 324, ¶ 14 (App. 2017); A.R.S. § 36–2811(B). The AMMA granted Arizona Department of Health Services (DHS) rulemaking authority to promulgate regulations in order to implement and administer the AMMA. Those regulations are found in the Arizona Administrative Code at sections R9–17–101 to R9–17–323. White Mountain Health Center v. Maricopa County, 754 Ariz. 230, ¶ 3 (App. 2016). See DHS Medical Marijuana website, http://azdhs.gov/licensing/medical-marijuana/index.php. 
Particularly when considering the voters' intent in enacting the AMMA, the court’s task is to apply the law they have written. Parsons, 242 Ariz. at 324, ¶ 15, citing Reed–Kaliher v. Hoggatt, 235 Ariz. 361, 367 ¶ 25, (App. 2014). 
II.	CARDHOLDERS
“Cardholder” means a qualifying patient, a designated caregiver or a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent who has been issued and possesses a valid registry identification card. A.R.S. § 13-2801(2). “Registry identification card” means a document issued by the department that identifies a person as a registered qualifying patient, registered designated caregiver or a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent. A.R.S. § 36-2801(14). A.R.S. § 36-2804.02(A) explains the process and requirements for applying to DHS for a registry identification card, and A.R.S. § 36-2804.03(A) sets forth the procedure and time limits for DHS to process such applications for qualified patients, caregivers, and medical marijuana dispensary agent. There are two exceptions to the procedure set forth in § 36-2804.03(A): one for facility restrictions under § 36-2805(A) (certain licensed health care institutions may adopt reasonable restrictions on the use of marijuana by their residents or persons receiving inpatient services); and second, under § 36-2804.03(B), DHS may not issue a registry identification card to a qualifying patient who is under the age of 18 unless certain additional measures are taken. 
[bookmark: _Hlk512438623]Any cardholder who sells marijuana to a person who is not allowed to possess marijuana for medical purposes under AMMA will have his registry identification card revoked and be subject to other penalties for the unauthorized sale of marijuana and other applicable offenses. A.R.S. § 36-2815(C). Further, DHS may revoke the registry identification card of any cardholder who knowingly violates AMMA, and the cardholder will be subject to other penalties for the applicable offense. A.R.S. § 36-2815(D). All registry identification cards and registration certificates expire one year after date of issue. A.R.S. § 36-2804.06(A). If a cardholder loses his registry identification card, he must promptly notify DHS; within 5 days of such notification and upon payment of a $10 fee, DHS must issue a new registry identification card with a new random identification number to the cardholder and, if the cardholder is a registered qualifying patient, to the registered qualifying patient's registered designated caregiver, if any. A.R.S. § 36-2804.06 (D). 
A.	Qualifying Patient
 “Qualifying patient” means a person who has been diagnosed by a physician as having a debilitating medical condition. A.R.S. 36-2801(13). 
 “Visiting qualifying patient” means a person (a) who is not a resident of Arizona or who has been a resident of Arizona less than 30 days, and who (b) has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition by a person who is licensed with authority to prescribe drugs to humans in the state of the person's residence or, in the case of a person who has been a resident of Arizona less than 30 days, the state of the person's former residence. A.R.S. § 13-2801(17). A registry identification card, or its equivalent, that is issued under the laws of another state, district, territory, commonwealth or insular possession of the United States that allows a visiting qualifying patient to possess or use marijuana for medical purposes in the jurisdiction of issuance has the same force and effect when held by a visiting qualifying patient as a registry identification card issued by DHS, except that a visiting qualifying patient is not authorized to obtain marijuana from a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. A.R.S. § 36-2804.03(C). See State v. Kemmish, 2018 244 Ariz. 314 (App. 2018) (physician's recommendation letter issued pursuant to California's Compassionate Use Act is equivalent to a registry identification card issued to an Arizona resident under AMMA, and a visiting qualifying patient is entitled to possess and use medical marijuana in Arizona). 
“Physician” means a doctor of medicine who holds a valid and existing license to practice medicine pursuant to title 32, chapter 13, a doctor of osteopathic medicine who holds a valid and existing license to practice osteopathic medicine pursuant to title 32, chapter 17, a naturopathic physician who holds a valid and existing license to practice naturopathic medicine pursuant to title 32, chapter 14, or a homeopathic physician who holds a valid and existing license to practice homeopathic medicine pursuant to title 32, chapter 29. A.R.S. § 36-2801(12). If the registered qualifying patient's certifying physician notifies DHS in writing that either the registered qualifying patient has ceased to suffer from a debilitating medical condition or that the physician no longer believes the patient would receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from the medical use of marijuana, the card is void upon notification by DHS to the qualifying patient. A.R.S. § 36-2808(D).
Under A.R.S. § 13-2801(3), “debilitating medical condition” means one or more of the following: 
(a) Cancer, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus, acquired immune deficiency syndrome, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn's disease, agitation of Alzheimer's disease or the treatment of these conditions.

(b) A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following: cachexia or wasting syndrome; severe and chronic pain; severe nausea; seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy; or severe and persistent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis.

(c) Any other medical condition or its treatment added by the department pursuant to § 36-2801.01.

The public may petition DHS to add debilitating medical conditions or treatments to the list of debilitating medical conditions set forth in § 36-2801(3). DHS must consider petitions in the manner required by department rule, including public notice and hearing, and must approve or deny a petition within 180 days of its submission. A.R.S. § 36-2801.01. In July 2014, DHS added PTSD to the list of debilitating medical conditions for which marijuana may be dispensed under the AMMA. However, DHS conditioned such use by requiring that a physician's written certification for the medical use of marijuana for PTSD (1) be specifically limited to palliative, non-therapeutic use and (2) include an attestation that the patient is participating in conventional treatment for PTSD. Arizona Cannabis Nurses Ass'n v. Arizona Dep't of Health Services, 242 Ariz. 62, ¶ 6 (App. 2017). DHS is authorized to impose reasonable restrictions and conditions when granting petition to add PTSD to the list of debilitating medical conditions. Id., ¶¶ 10-13. These conditions do not violate the equal protection rights of individuals with PTSD, as the conditions treat all individuals with PTSD similarly. Id., ¶¶ 17-18. 
DHS may deny an application or renewal of a qualifying patient's registry identification card only if the applicant: (1) does not meet the requirements of § 36-2801(13); (2) does not provide the information required; (3) previously had a registry identification card revoked for violating AMMA; or (4) provides false information. A.R.S. § 36-2804.05(A). DHS must give written notice to the qualifying patient of the reason for denying a registry identification card to the qualifying patient's designated caregiver. A.R.S. § 36-2804.05(F). 
A registered qualifying patient must notify DHS within 10 days of any change in the registered qualifying patient's name, address, designated caregiver or preference regarding who may cultivate marijuana for the registered qualifying patient or if the registered qualifying patient ceases to have his debilitating medical condition. A.R.S. § 36-2808(A). A registered qualifying patient who fails to comply with subsection A is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $150 dollars. A.R.S. § 36-2808(F). 
	B.	Designated Caregiver
A.R.S. § 13-2801(5) a designated caregiver means a person who: (a) is at least 21 years of age; (b) has agreed to assist with a patient's medical use of marijuana; (c) has not been convicted of an excluded felony offense; (d) assists no more than 5 qualifying patients with the medical use of marijuana; and (e) may receive reimbursement for actual costs incurred in assisting a registered qualifying patient's medical use of marijuana if the registered designated caregiver is connected to the registered qualifying patient through the department's registration process. The designated caregiver may not be paid any fee or compensation for his service as a caregiver. Payment for costs under § 13-2801(5) does not constitute a crime under either title 13, chapter 34 (drug offenses) or under title 36, chapter 27, article 4 (controlled substances act). AMMA does not provide a defense to a caregiver based on possession of an out-of-state caregiver card. State v. Abdi, 236 Ariz. 609 (App. 2015). 
Under A.R.S. § 13-2801(7), “excluded felony offense” means:
(a) A violent crime as defined in § 13-901.03(B) that was classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted.

(b) A violation of a state or federal controlled substance law that was classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted but does not include:
(i) An offense for which the sentence, including any term of probation, incarceration or supervised release, was completed 10 or more years earlier.
(ii) An offense involving conduct that would be immune from arrest, prosecution or penalty under § 36-2811 except that the conduct occurred before the effective date of this chapter or was prosecuted by an authority other than the state of Arizona.

Since ineligibility for a caregiver registration card under the AMMA is not a “penalty or disability” under A.R.S. § 13-907(C) (setting aside felony conviction and releasing the defendant from “penalties and disabilities” resulting from conviction), DHS may consider the felony in determining whether to grant, deny, or revoke a caregiver registration card. Parsons v. Arizona Dep't of Health Services, 242 Ariz. 320, 321, ¶ 2 (App. 2017). An “excluded felony offense” includes a violation of a controlled substance law that was classified as a felony. A.R.S. § 36–2801(7)(b). But an offense that would otherwise be an excluded felony offense will not make a person ineligible if one of two exceptions apply: (1) the sentence or probation for that offense was completed 10 or more years earlier or (2) the offense involved conduct that would be immune from arrest, prosecution or penalty under the AMMA but occurred before the AMMA's effective date. Regulations governing the AMMA's administration require that DHS revoke a caregiver's registration card if the person has been convicted of an excluded felony offense. A.A.C. § R9–17–205(E). Parsons, 242 Ariz. at 323-24, ¶ 15. DHS may consider a person's prior felony conviction for a controlled substance violation as grounds to deny or revoke a caregiver's registration card, even if the conviction was set aside under A.R.S. § 13-907(C). Id. at 325, ¶ 17. 
DHS may deny an application or renewal of a designated caregiver's registry identification card if the applicant: (1) does not meet the requirements of § 36-2801(5); (2) does not provide the information required; (3) previously had a registry identification card revoked for violating AMMA; or (4) provides false information. A.R.S. § 36-2804.05(B). DHS may conduct a criminal-records check of each designated caregiver to carry out this section. A.R.S.  § 36-2804.05(D). 
[bookmark: _Hlk512451056]A registered designated caregiver must notify DHS within 10 days of any change of name or address, A.R.S. § 36-2808(B); a caregiver who fails to comply with this requirement is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $150 dollars. A.R.S. § 36-2808(F). When a registered qualifying patient ceases to be a registered qualifying patient or changes registered designated caregiver, DHS must promptly notify the former designated caregiver that his duties and rights as to that qualifying patient expire 15 days after notification by DHS. A.R.S. § 36-2808(E). 
C.	Nonprofit Medical Marijuana Dispensary Agent
 “Nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent” means a principal officer, board member, employee or volunteer of a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary who is at least 21 years of age and has not been convicted of an excluded felony offense. A.R.S. § 36-2801(10); see § 13-2801(7), supra, re “excluded felony offense.” “Nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary” means a not-for-profit entity that acquires, possesses, cultivates, manufactures, delivers, transfers, transports, supplies, sells or dispenses marijuana or related supplies and educational materials to cardholders. A nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary may receive payment for all expenses incurred in its operation. A.R.S. § 36-2801(11). See also A.R.S. § 36-2806, regarding registered nonprofit dispensaries. 
A nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent must be registered with DHS before volunteering or working at a medical marijuana dispensary, § 36-2804.01(A), and may apply to DHS for a registry identification card for a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent by submitting certain documents, information, and a fee. A.R.S. § 36-2804.01(B). A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary must notify DHS within 10 days after a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent ceases to be employed by or volunteer at the registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. A.R.S. § 36-2804.01(C). No person who has been convicted of an excluded felony offense may be a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent, § 36-2804.01(D), and DHS may conduct a criminal-records check in order to carry out this section. A.R.S. § 36-2804.01(E); see A.R.S. § 13-2801(7), “excluded felony offense,” supra. Under A.R.S. § 36-2815(A), DHS must immediately revoke the registry identification card of a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent who violates § 36-2804.01(D) or § 36-2816(B) and must suspend or revoke the registry identification card of a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent for other violations of this chapter. 
[bookmark: _Hlk512432150]DHS may deny a registry identification card to a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent if: (1) the agent applicant does not meet the requirements of § 36-2801(10); (2) the applicant or dispensary did not provide the required information; (3) previously had a registry identification card revoked for violating AMMA; or (4) the applicant or dispensary provides false information. A.R.S. § 36-2804.05(C).  DHS may conduct a criminal-records check of each nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent applicant to carry out this section. A.R.S. § 36-2804.05(D). DHS must give written notice to the registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary of the reason for denying a registry identification card to a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent. A.R.S. § 36-2804.05(E). A registry identification card of a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent must be cancelled and access to the verification system must be deactivated upon notification to DHS by a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary that the nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent is no longer employed by or no longer volunteers at the registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. A.R.S. § 36-2804.06 (B). A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent must notify DHS within ten days of any change of name or address, § 36-2808(B); a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent who fails to comply with subsection B is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $150 dollars. A.R.S. § 36-2808(F).
Nonprofit medical marijuana dispensaries must register with DHS, § 36-2804(A); not later than 90 days after receiving an application, DHS must register the nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary and issue a registration certificate and a random 20-digit alphanumeric identification number if: (1) the dispensary has submitted certain specified documents and information; (2) none of the principal officers or board members has been convicted of an excluded felony offense; (3) none of the principal officers or board members has served as a principal officer or board member for a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary that has had its registration certificate revoked; and (4) none of the principal officers or board members is under 21 years of age. A.R.S. § 36-2804(B). DHS may conduct a criminal-records check in order to carry out this section. A.R.S. § 36-2804(D). The registration certificate expires one year after date of issue, § 36-2804.06(A), and a renewal nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary registration certificate must be issued within 10 days of receipt of the prescribed renewal application and renewal fee from a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary if its registration certificate is not under suspension and has not been revoked. A.R.S. § 36-2804.06(C).
A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary must be operated on a not-for-profit basis, § 36-2806(A), and is prohibited from acquiring, possessing, cultivating, manufacturing, delivering, transferring, transporting, supplying or dispensing marijuana for any purpose except to assist registered qualifying patients with the medical use of marijuana directly or through the registered qualifying patients' designated caregivers. A.R.S. § 36-2806(D). All cultivation of marijuana must take place in an enclosed, locked facility at a physical address provided to DHS during the registration process, which can only be accessed by registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agents associated in the registry with the nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. A.R.S. § 36-2806(E); see also A.R.S. § 13-2801(6) (“Enclosed, locked facility” means a closet, room, greenhouse or other enclosed area equipped with locks or other security devices that permit access only by a cardholder). A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary may acquire usable marijuana or marijuana plants from a registered qualifying patient or a registered designated caregiver only if the registered qualifying patient or registered designated caregiver receives no compensation for the marijuana. A.R.S. § 36-2806(F). A nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary may not permit any person to consume marijuana on the property of a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. A.R.S. § 36-2806(G). 
DHS may not issue more than one nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary registration certificate for every 10 pharmacies that have registered under § 32-1929 (biennial registration of pharmacies), obtained a pharmacy permit from the Arizona board of pharmacy, and operate within the state; except that DHS may issue nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary registration certificates in excess of this limit if necessary to ensure that it issues at least one nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary registration certificate in each county in which an application has been approved. A.R.S. § 36-2804(C). Cities, towns and counties may enact reasonable zoning regulations that limit the use of land for registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensaries to specified areas. A.R.S. § 36-2806.01.
A.R.S. § 36-2806.02 describes the steps a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary must take before dispensing marijuana to a qualified patient or caregiver, and § 36-2807 provides for a secure, password-protected, web-based verification system for use on a 24-hour basis by law enforcement personnel, nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agents and employers to verify registry identification cards. Under A.R.S. § 36-2815(B), DHS must immediately revoke the registration certificate of a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary that violates § 36-2816(B) or (C), and its board members and principal officers may not serve as the board members or principal officers for any other registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. 
	D.	Marijuana: Allowable Amount, Medical Use
“Marijuana” means all parts of any plant of the genus cannabis whether growing or not, and the seeds of such plant. A.R.S. § 36-2801(8). “Usable marijuana” means the dried flowers of the marijuana plant, and any mixture or preparation thereof, but does not include the seeds, stalks and roots of the plant and does not include the weight of any non-marijuana ingredients combined with marijuana and prepared for consumption as food or drink. A.R.S. § 36-2801(15).  The AMMA’s definition of marijuana includes both its dried-leaf/flower form and extracted resin, including hashish. State v. Jones, No.  CR-18-0370-PR (ASC May 28, 2019). The AMMA defines “marijuana” as “all parts of [the] plant.”  The word “all,” one of the most comprehensive words in the English language, means exactly that. “Part” means “an essential portion or integral element,” or, as relevant here, “one of the constituent elements of a plant or animal body.” Taken together, “all parts” refers to all constituent elements of the marijuana plant, and the fact the resin must first be extracted from the plant reflects that it is part of the plant. Id., ¶ 9.
Under A.R.S. § 36-2801(1)(a), a qualifying patient is allowed (i) 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana; and (ii) if the qualifying patient's registry identification card states the qualifying patient is authorized to cultivate marijuana, 12 marijuana plants contained in an enclosed, locked facility unless the plants are being transported because the qualifying patient is moving. Under A.R.S. § 36-2801(1)(b), a designated caregiver is allowed for each patient (i) 2.5 ounces of usable marijuana; and (ii) if the designated caregiver's registry identification card provides that the designated caregiver is authorized to cultivate marijuana, 12 plants contained in an enclosed, locked facility unless the plants are being transported because the designated caregiver is moving. Under A.R.S. § 36-2801(1)(c), marijuana that is incidental to medical use but not usable is not to be counted toward a qualifying patient's or designated caregiver's allowable amount of marijuana. 
Marijuana use is not limited to dried flowers. A.R.S. § 36-2801(1) provides that the allowable amount of marijuana is 2.5 ounces of “usable marijuana,” which § 36-2801(15) defines as “the dried flowers of the marijuana plant, and any mixture or preparation thereof, but does not include the seeds, stalks and roots of the plant and does not include the weight of any non-marijuana ingredients combined with marijuana and prepared for consumption as food or drink.” A.R.S. § 36-2801(8) provides the definition of marijuana, and nothing in § 36-2801(1) or (15) alters its meaning.  Rather, by its own language, the limitation in § 36-2801(1) and (15) pertains only to the amount of marijuana the patient can legally possess, not the type or form of marijuana one may possess and use.  State v. Jones, No.  CR-18-0370-PR, (ASC May 28, 2019), ¶¶ 11-12. 
This interpretation does not result in more that the allowance of 2.5 ounces of cannabis. In defining what AMMA protects, § 36-2801(8) defines marijuana broadly. In defining how much marijuana may be possessed, however, § 36-2801(1) and (15) define the weight more narrowly, § 36-2811(B) (limiting patients’ marijuana possession to the “allowable amount of marijuana”). A.R.S. § 36-2801(1) provides that the “allowable amount of marijuana” is “[t]wo-and-one-half ounces of usable marijuana,” which subsection (15) defines as “the dried flowers of the marijuana plant, and any mixture or preparation thereof.”  AMMA’s weight limitation is based on “two-and-one-half ounces” of “the dried flowers of the marijuana plant,” regardless of the weight of the product manufactured from those flowers. AMMA extends to manufactured marijuana products using extracted resin. Under § 36-2801(15), these products are “mixtures or preparations” of the dried flowers of the marijuana plant. Thus, § 36-2801(1) and (15) must be read to mean qualifying patients are allowed 2.5 ounces of dried flowers, or mixtures or preparations made from 2.5 ounces of dried flowers. Jones, ¶ ¶14-15.  
“Medical use” means the acquisition, possession, cultivation, manufacture, use, administration, delivery, transfer or transportation of marijuana or paraphernalia relating to the administration of marijuana to treat or alleviate a registered qualifying patient's debilitating medical condition or symptoms associated with the patient's debilitating medical condition. A.R.S. § 13-2801(9). “Enclosed, locked facility” means a closet, room, greenhouse or other enclosed area equipped with locks or other security devices that permit access only by a cardholder. A.R.S. § 13-2801(6).
III.	IMMUNITY 
A.	Limitations
A.R.S. § 36-2802 provides that AMMA does not authorize any person to engage in, and does not prevent the imposition of any civil, criminal or other penalties for engaging in, the following conduct:
A. Undertaking any task under the influence of marijuana that would constitute negligence or professional malpractice.

B. Possessing or engaging in the medical use of marijuana:
1. On a school bus.
2. On the grounds of any preschool or primary or secondary school.
3. In any correctional facility.

C. Smoking marijuana:
1. On any form of public transportation.
2. In any public place.

D. Operating, navigating or being in actual physical control of any motor vehicle, aircraft or motorboat while under the influence of marijuana, except that a registered qualifying patient shall not be considered to be under the influence of marijuana solely because of the presence of metabolites or components of marijuana that appear in insufficient concentration to cause impairment.

E. Using marijuana except as authorized under AMMA.

[bookmark: _Hlk510454752][bookmark: _Hlk511393315][bookmark: _Hlk6596038]A.R.S. § 36-2811 generally immunizes AMMA cardholders’ marijuana use, subject to several exceptions.  By law, the State may not subject a qualifying patient to arrest or prosecution for use of marijuana pursuant to AMMA. A.R.S. § 36-2811(B)(1). This protection broadly immunizes qualified patients, carving out only narrow exceptions from its otherwise sweeping grant of immunity. Those exceptions are found under A.R.S. § 36-2802. State v. Tagge, 246 Ariz. 486 (App. 2019), ¶ 4. 
1.	DUI 
Under § 36-2802(D), the AMMA does not authorize any person to engage in, and does not prevent the imposition of any civil, criminal or other penalties for engaging in: “Operating, navigating or being in actual physical control of any motor vehicle, aircraft or motorboat while under the influence of marijuana, except that a registered qualifying patient shall not be considered to be under the influence of marijuana solely because of the presence of metabolites or components of marijuana that appear in insufficient concentration to cause impairment.”
A.R.S. § 28-1381(A)(3) makes it unlawful for a driver to be in actual physical control of a vehicle if there is any drug defined in § 13-3401 or its metabolite in the person's body. The phrase “its metabolite” does not include Carboxy-THC, a non-impairing metabolite of Cannabis, a proscribed drug listed in § 13-3401. State ex rel. Montgomery v. Harris, 237 Ariz. 98, 99, ¶ 1 (2014). Accordingly, marijuana users violate § 28-1381(A)(1) if they drive while impaired to the slightest degree, and, regardless of impairment, violate (A)(3) if they are discovered with any amount of THC or an impairing metabolite in their body. But drivers cannot be convicted of the (A)(3) offense based merely on the presence of a non-impairing metabolite that may reflect the prior usage of marijuana. Id. at 104, ¶ 24. 
The AMMA allows a registered qualifying patient to possess and use limited amounts of marijuana for medical reasons and broadly immunizes them from prosecution. But AMMA does not immunize a cardholder from prosecution for DUI under § 28-1381(A)(3); rather, it affords an affirmative defense if the cardholder shows the marijuana or its metabolite was in a concentration insufficient to cause impairment. Dobson v. McClennen, 238 Ariz. 389, 390, ¶¶ 1-2 (2015).
In Dobson, ASC explained that AMMA immunity is not absolute. Under § 36-2802(D), a cardholder may be prosecuted for DUI, but may not be considered to be under the influence of marijuana solely because of the presence of metabolites or components of marijuana that appear in insufficient concentration to cause impairment. Arizona's DUI laws identify separate offenses for driving while a person is under the influence of marijuana and impaired to the slightest degree, A.R.S. § 28-1381(A)(1), and driving while there is marijuana or its metabolite in the person's body, § 28–1381(A)(3). An (A)(3) violation, unlike an (A)(1) violation, does not require proof that the defendant was in fact impaired while driving or in control of a vehicle; instead, marijuana users violate (A)(3) if they are discovered with any amount of THC or an impairing metabolite in their body. The (A)(1) and (A)(3) offenses also differ with respect to possible defenses. For a violation of (A)(1), § 28-1381(B) provides that it is not a defense that the person is or has been entitled to use drugs under the laws of this state. But § 28-1381(D) provides that a person cannot be convicted under (A)(3) for using a drug as prescribed by a licensed medical practitioner. A.R.S. § 28-1381(D) thus provides an affirmative defense to an (A)(3) charge. Dobson 238 Ariz. at 391, ¶¶ 8-10 (2015). 
ASC noted that the driver in State ex rel. Montgomery v. Harris was not a registered qualifying patient and thus the Court did not then consider the scope of the affirmative defense under § 28-1381(D). Dobson, 238 Ariz. at 392, ¶¶ 12-13. Violations of § 28-1381(A)(3) include situations in which drivers have a non-impairing amount of drugs in their bodies; the legislature recognized that for certain drugs it may be difficult to identify concentrations that definitively establish whether a defendant is impaired. Thus, the (A)(3) offense does not require proof that the defendant is in fact impaired to the slightest degree, § 28-1381(A)(1), but instead requires proof that the defendant has been driving or in control of a vehicle while any amount of the proscribed drugs or their impairing metabolites are present in the person's body. Section (A)(3) thus casts a net that embraces drivers who have proscribed drugs or their impairing metabolites in their bodies but who may or may not be impaired. By its terms, § 36-2802(D) does not shield registered qualifying patients from prosecution under (A)(3), but instead says they cannot be considered to be under the influence based solely on concentrations of marijuana or its metabolites that are insufficient to cause impairment. Thus, the statutory provisions suggest that the AMMA gives qualifying patients a limited defense rather than a general immunity in (A)(3) prosecutions.  Dobson, 238 Ariz. at 393, ¶¶ 16-17. 
ASC reasoned that qualifying patients may not rely on the defense afforded by § 28-1381(D) for prescribed drugs because first, medical marijuana used pursuant to written certifications under the AMMA is not prescribed, and second, the § 28-1381(D) defense applies to drugs prescribed by a different class of licensed medical providers than those who may issue medical marijuana certifications. Thus, § 36-2802(D), rather than § 28-1381(D), defines the affirmative defense available to a qualifying patient to an (A)(3) charge. If their use of marijuana is authorized by § 36-2802(D), such patients cannot be deemed under the influence under (A)(3) based solely on concentrations of marijuana or its metabolite insufficient to cause impairment. Possession of a registry card creates a presumption that a qualifying patient is engaged in the use of marijuana pursuant to the AMMA so long as the patient does not possess more than the permitted quantity of marijuana; that presumption is subject to rebuttal as provided under § 36–2811(A)(2). A qualifying patient may be convicted of an (A)(3) violation if proven to have driven or controlled a vehicle with marijuana or its impairing metabolite in his or her body. The patient may establish an affirmative defense to such a charge by showing that his or her use was authorized by the AMMA, subject to the rebuttable presumption under § 36-2811(A)(2), and that the marijuana or its metabolite was in a concentration insufficient to cause impairment. The patient bears the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence, as with other affirmative defenses. Dobson, 238 Ariz. at 392-93, ¶¶ 18-20.
ASC concluded that rather than shielding registered qualifying patients from any prosecution under A.R.S. § 28-1381(A)(3), the AMMA affords an affirmative defense for those patients who can show, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the concentration of marijuana or its impairing metabolite in their bodies was insufficient to cause impairment. Dobson, 238 Ariz. at 393 ¶ 23.  
The COA later addressed the burden of proof, holding the cardholder may satisfy that burden by, inter alia, cross-examining the arresting officer and the State's expert forensic scientist and/or by offering any admissible evidence (including his or her own testimony) relevant to proving whether he or she was impaired at the time of the stop. That evidence may or may not include expert testimony that the cardholder's THC concentration is not always sufficient to cause impairment. Ishak v. McClennen, 241 Ariz. 364, 369, ¶ 20 (App. 2016). 
In State v. Clark, 2020 WL 4577450 (App. 2020), Clark was found during a traffic stop to have bloodshot eyes, groggy speech, and a lethargic demeanor. He gave the officer an Arizona ID card instead of a driver’s license, and the officer saw a medical marijuana card on his lap. Upon questioning, Clark told the officer he had marijuana in the car and had smoked it earlier that day; he was arrested after failing to successfully complete even on field sobriety test. He was tried on 4 counts of aggravated DUI: two counts alleging impairment and two alleging THC in his blood. The trial court instructed the jury that under the AMMA, if it found Clark had proved by a preponderance of the evidence that the concentration of marijuana in his system was insufficient to cause impairment, it must find him not guilty of the impairment counts. The jury acquitted Clark of the impairment counts but found him guilty of the other two. On appeal he complained those counts were not supported by sufficient evidence because he met his burden on his affirmative defense that the concentration of marijuana in his system was insufficient to cause impairment. 
The COA affirmed, holding that a DUI defendant charged with both having THC in his body and actual impairment does not met his burden of proving the affirmative defense under the AMMA by virtue of the jury’s acquittal on the impairment charge; further, such acquittal does not mean the jury’s finding of guilt for having THC in his body is based on insufficient evidence. The COA noted that the AMMA provides an affirmative defense to a defendant charged with DUI for having THC in their blood who can show that they were authorized to use medical marijuana and that the concentration of marijuana in their body was insufficient to cause impairment. The defendant bears the burden of proving this defense by a preponderance of the evidence. Here, the State’s toxicology expert testified that Clark’s blood contained 3.6 nanograms of THC per milliliter; this was sufficient to demonstrate that Clark had marijuana or its metabolite in his body. The expert also testified that even at lower levels, THC causes impairment. The COA explained that If the jury believed State’s expert, even if it did not believe that Clark was actually impaired at the time of the stop, it believed that THC or its metabolite was present in Clark’s blood and in a concentration sufficient to cause impairment. That is all the law requires. Finally, in Arizona appellate courts do not disturb inconsistent verdicts on different counts. Clark, 2020 WL 4577450 ¶¶ 23-26. 
2.	Public Place
[bookmark: _Hlk6598438]In State v. Tagge, 246 Ariz. 486 (App. 2019), the defendants, both qualified patients under AMMA, parked in a commercial lot near a concert venue where they were attending a music festival; the city-owned lot had been leased to a radio station for parking for the event. They pulled up next to undercover police, who watched them as they sat in their car and smoked marijuana from a pipe. Although the windows were rolled up, the officers saw smoke coming from the pipe. They ordered the defendants out of the car and seized the pipe and marijuana. The defendants claimed immunity under AMMA at trial. The trial court held that although they were inside a closed car, they were in a public place and were not entitled to immunity. Division 1 affirmed on appeal. 
[bookmark: _Hlk8385036]First, the COA held that a “public place” under the AMMA is not limited to enclosed areas; instead, a “public place” is simply a place open to or frequented by the general public. Tagge, ¶ 7. The Court declined to adopt the limited definition of “public place” found in A.R.S. § 36-601.01(A)(9), under the Smoke-Free Arizona Act (“SFAA”), which includes only an “enclosed area to which the public is invited or in which the public is permitted.” (Emphasis added.) The Court rejected the argument that because both the SFAA and the AMMA appear in Title 36, the two must be in pari materia so that the SFAA’s definition of “public place” would apply to every use of the phrase in Title 36. Id., ¶ 6. The COA further held that a parking lot charging a fee for entering that otherwise is open to the public is a public place for purposes of AMMA. Tagge, ¶ 8. 
Second the COA held that a location, including a public place, does not change its character when a person is present in a vehicle, rather than on foot. Therefore, immunity under the AMMA does not extend to smoking marijuana in a private vehicle in a public parking lot. The Court acknowledged that in general, motorists in private vehicles enjoy privacy interests entitled to constitutional protection. But the applicability of the “public place” exception in the statute hinges on the character of the place, not on whether the qualifying patient takes steps to conceal the act or limit its effect on others within that place. Id., ¶¶ 9-11. The Court also held that the public transportation and public place restrictions in the AMMA are complementary, and not impermissibly redundant. Id., ¶¶ 12-14. The statute withdraws immunity for smoking in any public place, as well as for smoking on any form of public transportation – without regard to whether the public transportation is in a public or private place. Tagge., ¶ 13. 
The COA concluded that the defendants, even though qualifying patients under the AMMA, lost their immunity because they were smoking marijuana in a public place. Although they could have consumed marijuana in the same location by other means, they ceded their immunity by smoking marijuana in a public place. Id., ¶ 15. The special concurring opinion noted although a person’s mere presence in a vehicle is not by itself sufficient to remove him or her from the public place in which the vehicle is located, the fact that a person is in a mobile enclosure does not necessarily mean the person is in a “public place.” The holding of this case does not extend, for example, to a patient who is in a traditionally private place, such as the closed bedroom of a mobile home lawfully parked in a public lot. The appropriate inquiry centers on the reasonable expectation of privacy that a patient has in the location where the smoking takes place—the greater the expectation of privacy, the less “public” the place. Thus, although the exposed passenger compartment of a car does not carry with it a reasonable expectation of privacy when smoking marijuana, other circumstances involving a different type of vehicle located in a public place might dictate a different result. Tagge, ¶¶ 16-17.
3.	Public College or University
[bookmark: _Hlk513287740][bookmark: _Hlk513287402]In State v. Maestas, 244 Ariz. 9 (2018), ASC held that by adding to the list of locations where possession or use of medical marijuana is prohibited under the AMMA, A.R.S. § 15-108(A) (making it a criminal offense to use or possess marijuana on any public university or college) violates the Voter Protection Act and is unconstitutional as applied to AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use by a university student. The Court rejected the State’s argument that the AMMA’s anti-discrimination provision, A.R.S. § 36-2813(A), authorizes the legislature to criminalize AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use on public college and university campuses to preserve federal funding. Id., ¶ 21. 
The Court explained that first, although § 36-2813(A) authorizes a school to penalize a cardholder to preserve federal funding, a school is not authorized to enact criminal laws; thus, any authority vested in a school under this statute does not extend to criminalizing AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use. Id., ¶ 22. Second, even if § 36-2813(A) authorizes the legislature to take action to preserve federal funding, criminalizing AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use is impermissible because it is unnecessary to achieve the statute’s purpose. Although a university can comply with federal funding requirements by implementing a program to prevent the use of illicit drugs which includes prohibiting unlawful possession of illicit drugs, describing applicable legal sanctions under local, state, or federal law for unlawful possession of illicit drugs, and referring violators for prosecution, a university does not have to guarantee prosecution for violations of its program. ASC noted that a university can refer violations of its program to the federal prosecutor. ASC concluded that because the State failed to show that a university would lose federal funding if a state prosecutor did not prosecute violations of the university’s program, § 36-2813(A) does not authorize the legislature to criminalize AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use on public university and college campuses to preserve federal funding. Maestas, ¶¶ 21-23. 
B.	Protections
1.	Qualifying Patients and Caregivers
It is presumed that a qualifying patient or designated caregiver is engaged in the medical use of marijuana pursuant to AMMA. A.R.S. § 36-2811(A). That presumption exists if the qualifying patient or designated caregiver: (a) is in possession of a registry identification card; and (b) is in possession of an amount of marijuana that does not exceed the allowable amount of marijuana. A.R.S. § 36-2811(A)(1). The presumption may be rebutted by evidence that conduct related to marijuana was not for the purpose of treating or alleviating the qualifying patient's debilitating medical condition or symptoms associated with the qualifying patient's debilitating medical condition. A.R.S. § 36-2811(A)(2). 
Under § 36-2811(B), a registered qualifying patient or registered designated caregiver is not subject to arrest, prosecution or penalty in any manner, or denial of any right or privilege, including any civil penalty or disciplinary action by a court or occupational or professional licensing board or bureau: 
1. For the registered qualifying patient's medical use of marijuana pursuant to this chapter, if the registered qualifying patient does not possess more than the allowable amount of marijuana.

2. For the registered designated caregiver assisting a registered qualifying patient to whom he is connected through the department's registration process with the registered qualifying patient's medical use of marijuana pursuant to this chapter if the registered designated caregiver does not possess more than the allowable amount of marijuana.

3. For offering or providing marijuana to a registered qualifying patient or a registered designated caregiver for the registered qualifying patient's medical use or to a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary if nothing of value is transferred in return and the person giving the marijuana does not knowingly cause the recipient to possess more than the allowable amount of marijuana.

i.	General 
In A.R.S. § 36-2811, the AMMA provides two different statutory protections for cardholders. First, subsection (A) provides a presumption the cardholder is engaged in medical use if he or she has a valid card and does not possess more than the allowable amount of marijuana; this presumption may be rebutted by a showing the cardholder was using or possessing the marijuana for reasons other than medical use. Once rebutted, the presumption disappears and the cardholder may be charged with marijuana-related offenses. Thus, even a defendant who uses or possesses an amount of marijuana allowable under the AMMA may be charged with marijuana-related offenses. Second, apart from this presumption, § 36-2811(B)(1) affords immunity from prosecution by providing that a cardholder may not be prosecuted for medical use of marijuana if the registered qualifying patient does not possess more than the allowable amount of marijuana. Under the plain language of the statute, immunity from prosecution is conditioned on a cardholder not possessing more than the allowable amount of marijuana and not improperly transferring marijuana. Thus, a cardholder who does not comply with those conditions may be prosecuted for marijuana-related offenses. None of a cardholder's marijuana use or possession is protected by the AMMA if he or she fails to abide by the enumerated conditions. Fields ex rel. County of Pima, 232 Ariz. 265, 269 ¶¶ 13-14 (App. 2013). 
A.R.S. § 36-2811(B)(1) immunizes the patient’s “medical use” of marijuana, defined to mean “the acquisition, possession, cultivation, manufacture, use, administration, delivery, transfer or transportation of marijuana or paraphernalia relating to the administration of marijuana to treat or alleviate a registered qualifying patient’s debilitating medical condition.” AMMA does not define “manufacture” but it commonly means “to make into a product suitable for use.”  AMMA anticipates not only that dispensaries will produce marijuana in edible form, see § 36-2801(15) (defining “usable marijuana” to include mixtures or preparations, to be “prepared for consumption as food or drink”), but also that patients will consume marijuana by a method other than smoking, see A.R.S. § 36-2805(A)(3). Taken together, these statutes indicate AMMA’s intent to allow the manufacture and preparation of parts of the marijuana plant for medical use, including extracting the resin. State v. Jones, No.  CR-18-0370-PR, ¶10 (ASC May 28, 2019)
A plain reading of the relevant provisions compels the conclusion that AMMA protects the use of “marijuana,” including resin, so long as the patient does not exceed the allowable amount and otherwise complies with the statutory requirements.  Jones, ¶16. Ballot materials for Proposition 213 stated that AMMA’s purpose was to protect patients with debilitating medical conditions from arrest and prosecution for their medical use of marijuana, and it was intended to allow the use of marijuana in connection with a wide array of debilitating medical conditions. Limiting use to only dried-leaf/flower form would preclude marijuana as an option for those for whom smoking or consuming those parts of the marijuana plants would be ineffective or impossible. Consistent with voter intent, interpreting the statutes in this manner enables patients to use medical marijuana to treat their debilitating medical conditions, in whatever form best suits them, so long as they do not possess more than the allowable amount. Id., ¶17. 
In claiming protection under this statutory immunity, it is a defendant's burden to plead and prove by a preponderance of the evidence that his or her actions fall within the range of immune action. Whether such immunity exists is a question of law for the trial court. If the existence of immunity turns on disputed factual issues, the jury determines the facts and the court then determines whether those facts are sufficient to establish immunity. Should the defendant fail to establish immunity, the state, of course, still must prove all elements of the charged offenses beyond a reasonable doubt at trial. Fields, 232 Ariz. at 269, ¶ 15; State v. Liwski, 238 Ariz. 184, 166, ¶¶ 6-8 (App. 2015). 
[bookmark: co_pp_sp_156_187_1][bookmark: co_pp_sp_4645_608_1]There is no immunity for a designated caregiver carrying more than the permitted 2.5 ounces of marijuana per qualified patient. State v. Liwski, 238 Ariz. 184 (App. 2015) (designated caregiver for one qualifying patient carrying 3.5 ounces of marijuana was not immune under the AMMA, even if he intended to transfer excess marijuana from plants he had cultivated to another caregiver; allowable amount of marijuana was 2.5 ounces for each qualifying patient connected to defendant, and AMMA did not permit defendant to exceed limit to dispose of excess marijuana). Under § 36-2801(1)(b)(i), the allowable amount of marijuana for a designated caregiver is 2.5 ounces for each qualifying patient connected to that caregiver. Thus, a caregiver who possesses 3.5 ounces of marijuana is not entitled to immunity pursuant to § 36-2811(B)(2). A.R.S. § 36-2811(B)(3) provides immunity for offering or providing marijuana to another person or entity entitled to receive it, not for possession. Immunity for use of or assistance with medical marijuana by cardholders is found in subsections (B)(1) and (B)(2), and those provisions include unambiguous possession limits. Subsection (B)(3) does not create a separate allowance for possession, but rather creates a means by which a cardholder can ensure they do not possess more than the allowable amount of marijuana. Liwski, 238 Ariz. at 186-187, ¶¶ 9-10. 
ii.	Patient-to-Patient Sales
AMMA does not provide a registered qualifying patient immunity from prosecution for providing marijuana to another registered qualifying patient in exchange for something of value. State v. Matlock, 237 Ariz. 331, 336, ¶ 22 (App. 2015). The plain language of § 36-2811(B)(3) states that a qualifying patient can offer or provide marijuana to another qualifying patient, a designated caregiver, or a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. That provision further explains that when offering or providing marijuana to those two classes, a qualifying patient cannot receive anything of value in return or knowingly cause the recipient to possess more than the allowable amount of marijuana. Id. at 334-35, ¶¶ 13-15. This conclusion is bolstered by the statutory scheme as a whole; the drafters of the statute and the electorate that approved it knew how to specify that a registered qualifying patient could not be prosecuted for selling marijuana to other such patients. Id. at 335, ¶¶ 16-17. That § 36-2815(C) (“any cardholder who sells marijuana to a person who is not allowed to possess marijuana for medical purposes under AMMA will have his registry identification card revoked and be subject to other penalties for the unauthorized sale of marijuana and other applicable offenses”) does not mention patient-to-patient sales does not mean such sales are permitted. Id. at 336, ¶ 18. 
The AMMA's purpose is to protect patients with debilitating medical conditions, as well as their physicians and providers, from arrest and prosecution, criminal and other penalties and property forfeiture if such patients engage in the medical use of marijuana. To that end, the electorate required DHS to adopt and enforce a regulatory system for the distribution of marijuana for medical use. The sale of medical marijuana only through closely regulated dispensaries is consistent with that purpose. Also consistent with its purpose, the AMMA evinces a spirit of permitting patients to acquire the medicine they need, not creating a profitable medical marijuana industry. Matlock, 237 Ariz. at 336, ¶¶ 20-21. 

iii.	Visiting Cardholders 
Under A.R.S. § 36–2804.03(C), a physician's recommendation letter issued pursuant to California's Compassionate Use Act is equivalent to a registry identification card issued to an Arizona resident under AMMA, and a visiting qualifying patient is entitled to possess and use medical marijuana in Arizona. State v. Kemmish, 244 Ariz. 314 (App. 2018). 
AMMA gives “visiting qualifying patients” the same presumptions and immunities as a qualifying patient with an Arizona registry identification card. Id. at ¶ 6. AMMA’s plain language provides all that is required for a visiting qualifying patient to possess or use medical marijuana in Arizona is to have a “registry identification card, or its equivalent.” “Equivalent” means: “(1) Equal in value, force, amount, effect, or significance; (2) Corresponding in effect or function; nearly equal; virtually identical.” Equivalent, Black's Law Dictionary (10th ed. 2014). Therefore, § 36–2804.03(C) allows a visiting qualifying patient to possess or use medical marijuana in Arizona if the patient has documentation that would entitle him to do so under the medical marijuana laws of another state. Whether another state's medical marijuana law requires an identification card, a physician's letter, or some other documentation is immaterial, so long as the documentation is sufficient under the law of the issuing state. If the qualifying visiting patient is authorized by a medical marijuana law in another state “to possess or use marijuana for medical purposes in the jurisdiction of issuance,” the patient may possess and use medical marijuana in Arizona. Kemmish, 244 Ariz. 314, ¶ 11. 
However, in Kemmish the Court emphasized the parties had stipulated Kemmish met the definition of a “visiting qualifying patient,” and that his physician recommendation letter was issued pursuant to California's Compassionate Use Act and allowed him to possess and use medical marijuana in California. The Court “left for another day” the issue of whether an oral recommendation, allowed under California law, is sufficient documentation under § 36-2804.03(C), and expressed no opinion on whether a visiting patient diagnosed with a medical condition not defined as a “debilitating medical condition” under the AMMA but permits him to possess and use medical marijuana in another state, is permitted to possess and use medical marijuana in Arizona. Kemmish, ¶ 18. 
On the other hand, AMMA does not provide such a defense to a caregiver based on possession of an out-of-state caregiver card. AMMA gives a qualifying patient issued a registry identification card by another state the same presumptions and immunities when she visits Arizona. But A.R.S. § 36-2804.03(C) expressly applies only to visiting patients; it makes no reference to a “visiting designated caregiver.” Based on the express language of A.R.S. § 36-2804.03(C), AMMA does not provide a defense based on possession of an out-of-state caregiver card. Thus, the trial court does not err in precluding a defendant charged with marijuana possession from introducing evidence of her status as a registered caregiver under another state’s medical marijuana statute. State v. Abdi, 236 Ariz. 609, 611–12, ¶¶ 12-13 (App. 2015). 
iv.	Probationers and Plea Agreements
Probationers are immune from probation revocation charges and proceedings based on AMMA-compliant use of medical marijuana; further, probation cannot be conditioned on a defendant refraining from AMMA-compliant marijuana. Reed-Kaliher v. Hon. Hoggatt, 237 Ariz. 119 (2015).
[bookmark: _Hlk511664198]In Reed-Kaliher, ASC explained that AMMA broadly immunizes qualified patients, carving out only narrow exceptions from its otherwise sweeping grant of immunity against penalty in any manner, or denial of any right or privilege. AMMA does not allow qualified patients to use medical marijuana in any correctional facility, in public places, or while driving or performing other tasks that must be undertaken with care, nor does it immunize possession of marijuana in excess of the quantity limitations provided by the AMMA. But it does not expressly prohibit those who have been convicted of drug offenses from using medical marijuana pursuant to AMMA. The immunity under § 36-2811(B) expressly applies to any “registered qualifying patient.” Under § 36-2801(5)(c),(10), AMMA precludes people who have committed excluded felony offenses from serving as designated caregivers or dispensary agents. But even such offenders are not disqualified from being qualifying patients under § 36-2801(13). The excluded felony offenses under § 36-2801(7) include violent crimes and recent drug offenses, except conduct that would be immune under AMMA. Thus, AMMA does not deny even those convicted of violent crimes or drug offenses (so long as they are not incarcerated) access to medical marijuana if it could alleviate severe or chronic pain or debilitating medical condition. Therefore, the immunity provision of AMMA does not exclude probationers. Reed-Kaliher, 237 Ariz. at 122, ¶¶ 8-9. 
[bookmark: co_pp_sp_156_123_1][bookmark: co_anchor_B82035761559_1]ASC noted in Reed-Kaliher that probation is a privilege, and revocation of probation is a penalty. Under AMMA, if the State extends a plea offer that includes probation, it cannot condition the plea on acceptance of a probationary term that would prohibit a qualified patient from using medical marijuana pursuant to AMMA as such an action would constitute the denial of a privilege. Nor may a court impose such a condition or penalize a probationer by revoking probation for such AMMA-compliant use, as that action would constitute a punishment. When granting probation, the trial court has only that authority given by Arizona statutes and thus AMMA precludes the court from imposing any penalty for AMMA-compliant marijuana use. While the State can and should include reasonable and necessary terms of probation, it cannot insert illegal ones. While the court can condition probation on a probationer’s agreement to abstain from lawful conduct, it cannot impose a term that violates Arizona law. Therefore, any probation term that threatens to revoke probation for medical marijuana use that complies with the terms of AMMA is unenforceable and illegal under AMMA. Reed-Kaliher 237 Ariz. at 122-123, ¶¶ 10-14. 
[bookmark: co_footnoteReference_B00222035761559_ID0]ASC concluded that just as AMMA provides immunity for charges of violating § 13-3405, which would otherwise subject a person to criminal prosecution for marijuana use, AMMA also provides immunity for charges of violating § 13-3408(G), which might otherwise subject a person to revocation of probation for marijuana use. A.R.S. § 13-3408(G) prohibits the use of marijuana or narcotic or prescription drugs except as lawfully administered by a health care practitioner, suggesting that the legislature intended to distinguish between illicit use and lawful medicinal use of such drugs. Since medical marijuana use pursuant to AMMA is lawful, § 13-3408(G) must be harmonized with AMMA by interpreting it as barring probationers from illegally using drugs while nonetheless permitting legal medicinal uses of such drugs. Reed-Kaliher, 237 Ariz. at 123, ¶ 17.
In State ex rel. Polk v. Hancock, 237 Ariz. 125 (2015), ASC held that the State cannot extend a plea offer that requires imposition of a probation condition that would prohibit a defendant's Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA)-compliant marijuana use; likewise, the State cannot withdraw from a plea agreement solely because the trial court refuses to require that the defendant refrain from AMMA-compliant marijuana use while on probation. ASC explained that a defendant generally can waive statutory and constitutional rights as part of a plea agreement but cannot do so in contravention of an identifiable public policy. By adopting AMMA, Arizona voters established as public policy that qualified patients cannot be penalized or denied any privilege as a consequence of their AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use. This policy would be severely compromised if the State and a defendant could bargain away the defendant's ability to lawfully use medical marijuana. Further, parties cannot confer authority on the court that the law proscribes. The trial court's authority to grant probation is constrained by statutes; because § 36-2811(B) prohibits the court from conditioning probation on a defendant refraining from AMMA-compliant marijuana use the parties to a plea agreement cannot confer this authority on the court. The Marijuana Condition, as applied to AMMA-compliant use, is an illegal term. State ex rel. Polk v. Hancock, 237 Ariz. 125, 128–29, ¶¶ 9-11 (2015). 
	2.	Physicians
A physician shall not be subject to arrest, prosecution or penalty in any manner or denied any right or privilege, including but not limited to civil penalty or disciplinary action by the Arizona board of medical examiners or by any other business, occupational or professional licensing board or bureau, based solely on providing written certifications or for otherwise stating that, in the physician's professional opinion, a patient is likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from the medical use of marijuana to treat or alleviate the patient's debilitating medical condition or symptoms associated with the debilitating medical condition. But nothing in AMMA prevents a professional licensing board from sanctioning a physician for failing to properly evaluate a patient's medical condition or otherwise violating the standard of care for evaluating medical conditions. A.R.S. § 36-2811(C). 
Thus, AMMA does not immunize a physician against prosecution for falsely attesting that he reviewed a patient's medical records from the previous 12 months before providing a written certification authorizing medical marijuana use. AMMA immunizes physicians from prosecution or penalties based solely on their providing the statutorily authorized certifications or otherwise stating a professional opinion regarding the therapeutic and palliative benefits of medical marijuana use. It does not immunize other conduct, such as making a false statement in a written certification. State v. Gear, 239 Ariz. 343, 347-48, ¶ 23 (2016). 
3.	Providing Medical Marijuana
Under A.R.S. § 36-2811(D), no person may be subject to arrest, prosecution or penalty in any manner, or denied any right or privilege, including any civil penalty or disciplinary action by a court or occupational or professional licensing board or bureau, for: (1) providing a registered qualifying patient, a registered designated caregiver or a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary with marijuana paraphernalia for purposes of a qualifying patient's medical use of marijuana; (2) being in the presence or vicinity of the medical use of marijuana authorized under this chapter; or (3) assisting a registered qualifying patient with administering marijuana as authorized by AMMA.


4.	Medical Marijuana Dispensaries and Agents                          
A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary is not subject to prosecution; nor to search or inspection except by DHS pursuant to § 36-2806(H); seizure or penalty in any manner and may not be denied any right or privilege, including civil penalty or disciplinary action by a court or business licensing board or entity, for acting pursuant to AMMA  and DHS regulations to acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture, deliver, transfer, transport, supply, sell or dispense marijuana or related supplies and educational materials to registered qualifying patients, to registered designated caregivers on behalf of registered qualifying patients or to other registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensaries. A.R.S. § 36-2811(E). 
There is no statute, state or federal, that bars leasing property to a person or business that is applying for a license to run a medical marijuana dispensary under the AMMA with a right to sublease. Even assuming that the operation of a dispensary would violate federal law, the right to sublease is a valuable property right that involves no controversy over its legality; as such, a medical marijuana dispensary can seek damages for the loss of a lease. Green Cross Med., Inc. v. Gally, 242 Ariz. 293, 296, ¶ 8 (App. 2017). The AMMA protects the rights of dispensaries to enter into leases and contracts if they are in compliance with the AMMA. A.R.S. § 36–2811(E) provides that a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary is not subject to prosecution and may not be denied any right or privilege by a court or entity, for acting pursuant to AMMA and DHS regulations to acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture, deliver, transfer, sell or dispense marijuana or related supplies to qualifying patients or designated caregivers. The ability to enforce a lease or contract is a right or privilege under Arizona law, subject only to reasonable regulation by the government when a public interest is involved. Given the language of the AMMA, a court may not void or refuse to enforce a dispensary's lease with a landlord simply because the dispensary would be supplying marijuana in compliance with the AMMA. Id. at 296, ¶ 10. 
A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary agent is not subject to arrest, prosecution, search, seizure or penalty in any manner and may not be denied any right or privilege, including civil penalty or disciplinary action by a court or occupational or professional licensing board or entity, for working or volunteering for a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary pursuant to this chapter and department regulations to acquire, possess, cultivate, manufacture, deliver, transfer, transport, supply, sell or dispense marijuana or related supplies and educational materials to registered qualifying patients, to registered designated caregivers on behalf of registered qualifying patients or to other registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensaries. A.R.S. § 36-2811(F). 
5.	Forfeiture 
Under A.R.S. § 36-2811(G), property, including all interests in the property, otherwise subject to forfeiture under §§ 13-4301-4315, that is possessed, owned or used in connection with the medical use of marijuana authorized under AMMA or acts incidental to the medical use of marijuana authorized under AMMA, is not subject to seizure or forfeiture. This subsection does not prevent civil forfeiture if the basis for the forfeiture is unrelated to the medical use of marijuana. 
Marijuana lawfully possessed pursuant to AMMA is not subject to forfeiture under state law; further, law enforcement agents are immune from prosecution under federal law for acts taken in compliance with a state court order to return marijuana to a lawful owner. State v. Okun, 231 Ariz. 462 (App. 2016). 
[bookmark: co_pp_sp_4645_1001_1][bookmark: co_pp_sp_156_465_1]In Okun, the COA noted that A.R.S. § 13-3413(C) provides: “Peyote, dangerous drugs, prescription-only drugs, marijuana, narcotic drugs and plants from which such drugs may be derived which are seized in connection with any violation of this chapter or which come into the possession of a law enforcement agency are summarily forfeited.” The first clause does not compel summary forfeiture of marijuana possessed lawfully pursuant to AMMA; in such instance, the marijuana is not seized “in connection with” a drug offense under Arizona law.  Nor does the second clause justify forfeiture of medical marijuana; while other subsections allow the State to bring civil forfeiture proceedings on items such as money, books and equipment used in a drug offense, the items enumerated in subsection (C) are summarily forfeited because the mere possession of such items constitutes a criminal offense. Okun, 231 Ariz. at 464-465, ¶¶ 7-8 (App. 2016). But Arizona voters decided that a qualified patient does not commit a criminal offense by possessing an allowable amount of marijuana; consistent with that directive, the AMMA mandates that marijuana may not be seized or forfeited from a qualifying patient. Specifically, § 36-2811(G) states that property, including all interests in the property, otherwise subject to forfeiture under title 13, chapter 39, that is possessed, owned or used in connection with the medical use of marijuana is not subject to seizure or forfeiture. This specific and more recent provision exempting medical marijuana from seizure or forfeiture controls over the more general provision in the forfeiture statute.  Id., ¶ 9. Moreover, the AMMA, pursuant to A.R.S. § 36–2811(B)(1), prohibits the imposition of a penalty in any manner on a qualified patient possessing an allowable amount of marijuana. Id., ¶ 11. 
[bookmark: co_pp_sp_156_466_1][bookmark: co_pp_sp_156_467_1]The Okun court further held that law enforcement officials who comply with a court order to return marijuana seized from a person in lawful possession pursuant to AMMA are not subject to prosecution under the federal Controlled Substances Act (CSA) because they are immunized under federal law for such actions. Okun, 231 Ariz. at 465-466, ¶¶ 12-14, citing 21 U.S.C. § 885(d) (providing that “no civil or criminal liability shall be imposed by virtue of this subchapter ... upon any duly authorized officer of any State, territory, political subdivision thereof who shall be lawfully engaged in the enforcement of any law or municipal ordinance relating to controlled substances.”). Further, where state criminal charges are dismissed, neither the state nor the law enforcement officials ordered to return medical marijuana have standing to argue that federal law invalidates a person’s right under AMMA to possess medical marijuana. Whether possession of marijuana may subject a person to federal prosecution despite a state-law right to possess it is not a controversy before the state court where the federal government has not charged that person with any crime. Id. at 466-467, ¶¶ 17-18.
6.	Probable Cause and Reasonable Suspicion 
A.R.S. § 36-2811(H) provides that mere possession of, or application for, a registry identification card may not constitute probable cause or reasonable suspicion, nor may it be used to support the search of the person or property of the person possessing or applying for the registry identification card. 
[bookmark: co_anchor_B72039358116_1]ASC analyzed this statute in State v. Sisco, 239 Ariz. 532 (2016), noting that possession of a registry identification card does not preclude the existence of probable cause if probable cause exists on other grounds. Marijuana for medicinal purposes is legal under the terms of AMMA; thus, although marijuana remains illegal under federal law, the odor of marijuana no longer necessarily reflects criminal activity under Arizona law. However, probable cause does not turn on the innocence or guilt of particular conduct, but on the degree of suspicion that attaches to particular types of non-criminal acts. Probable cause requires only a probability of criminal activity, not an actual showing of such activity. Therefore, innocent behavior frequently will provide the basis for a showing of probable cause. Sisco, 239 Ariz. at 536, ¶ 14 (2016). 
[bookmark: co_pp_sp_4645_554_1][bookmark: co_pp_sp_156_537_1]ASC explained that the AMMA did not decriminalize marijuana generally; rather, it makes marijuana legal under only limited circumstances. Possession of marijuana by persons other than a registered qualifying patient, designated caregiver, or medical marijuana dispensary agent is still unlawful, and even those subject to AMMA must strictly comply with its provisions to trigger its protections and immunities. Thus, when an officer sees or smells marijuana, the degree of suspicion remains high, and a reasonable officer is justified in concluding that such sight or smell is indicative of criminal activity. But this does not mean AMMA has no effect on the probable cause determination. Since probable cause is determined by the totality of the circumstances and marijuana possession or use is lawful when pursuant to AMMA, a reasonable officer cannot ignore indicia of AMMA-compliant conduct that could dispel probable cause. Police must include exculpatory facts that are known to them and material to the probable cause determination in any affidavit in support of a search warrant. Sisco, 239 Ariz. at 536- 537, ¶¶ 16-18. Presentation of a valid registry card could indicate that marijuana use or possession is lawful and dispel probable cause, unless other facts suggest the use or possession is not pursuant to AMMA. The ultimate inquiry turns on a practical, common-sense consideration of the totality of the circumstances. Id., 537, ¶ 20. 
[bookmark: co_pp_sp_4645_555_1][bookmark: co_pp_sp_156_538_1][bookmark: co_anchor_I180b9a3ead0a11e79bef99c0ee06c][bookmark: co_anchor_B102039358116_1][bookmark: co_pp_sp_4645_556_1]ASC concluded that neither AMMA’s broad immunity provision, § 36-2811(B), nor its subsection relating to probable cause, § 36–2811(H), suggest that AMMA patients have greater protections from searches or increased expectations of privacy than those enjoyed by the general public. Subsection (B) affords immunities for specified conduct under AMMA; subsection (H) provides that possession of a registry card does not itself constitute probable cause, but also does not preclude the existence of probable cause on other grounds. AMMA expressly does not prevent the imposition of criminal or other penalties for using marijuana except as permitted by the statute. A.R.S. § 36–2802(E). Taken together, these provisions suggest that registered qualifying patients and others covered by AMMA are not generally afforded greater protections from searches than is the general public, but instead enjoy such protections as AMMA specifically provides. Sisco, 239 Ariz. at 537-38, ¶ 23. In sum, the general proscription of marijuana in Arizona and AMMA’s limited exceptions thereto support finding probable cause based on the smell or sight of marijuana alone unless under the totality of the circumstances other facts would suggest to a reasonable person that the marijuana use or possession complies with AMMA. This “odor (or sight) unless” standard comports with the Fourth Amendment and gives effect to AMMA’s exceptions by precluding officers or magistrates from ignoring indicia of AMMA-compliant marijuana use or possession when assessing probable cause. Id. at 238, ¶ 26. 
[bookmark: co_anchor_I180b9a3fad0a11e79bef99c0ee06c]See also State v. Cheatham, 240 Ariz. 1 (2016) (holding, consistent with Sisco, that the odor of marijuana sufficed to establish probable cause and the ensuing search was thus authorized by the automobile exception to the warrant requirement).
In State v. Raffaele, WL 4516929 (App. 2020), the COA addressed the issue of reasonable suspicion justifying the prolonging of a traffic stop arising from the odor of marijuana, juxtaposed with the presentation of a Medical Marijuana card. The COA noted that a traffic stop cannot last longer than is necessary to effectuate the purpose of the stop. Once an officer has accomplished the purpose of the stop, the officer cannot continue to hold the driver unless (1) the encounter between the driver and the officer becomes consensual, or (2) during the encounter, the officer develops a reasonable and articulable suspicion that criminal activity is afoot. Id., ¶ 17. By definition, reasonable suspicion is something short of probable cause. Although reasonable suspicion is more than a hunch, it only requires an officer to articulate some minimal, objective justification for an investigatory detention. To determine whether an officer had a reasonable suspicion to prolong the traffic stop, a court must look at all relevant factors (each of which could have a potentially innocent explanation) and examine them collectively. The court affords deference to a law enforcement officer’s ability to distinguish between innocent and suspicious actions. Id., 19. 
There, the COA explained that after the officer smelled marijuana in the car, he had probable cause to hold Raffaele and search the vehicle. But once Raffaele presented his medical marijuana card, the officer was required to consider any indicia of AMMA-compliant possession or use, and such facts as part of the totality of the circumstances that might dispel probable cause based on odor alone. The COA concluded that there, based on the totality of the circumstances, the officer had reasonable suspicion despite the medical marijuana card. Raffaele admitted to smoking in the car two days earlier, was driving a car rented under a third-party’s name, and although he appeared calm and was cooperative, the officer noted Raffaele’s facial tremors, indicating higher level of nervousness and anxiety; they persisted even after he was told he would only receive a warning. WL 4516929, ¶¶ 20-21. 
7.	Schools, Landlords, and Employers
Under A.R.S. § 36-2811(I), no school, landlord or employer may be penalized or denied any benefit under state law for enrolling, leasing to or employing a registered qualifying patient or a registered designated caregiver. 
A landlord cannot lawfully be prosecuted for conspiracy, facilitation or accomplice liability under state law because running a medical marijuana dispensary in compliance with AMMA is not an offense. Nor could a landlord himself be prosecuted for the possession, use, or sale of marijuana simply because he leased property to a dispensary compliant with the AMMA. Nothing in the AMMA requires a landlord to rent a property to a proposed dispensary, but once he chooses to do so, he is not free to rescind his contractual commitments without facing potential monetary liability. Green Cross Med., Inc. v. Gally, 242 Ariz. 293, 297–98, ¶¶ 13-15 (App. 2017). Further, the fact that the lease may be in violation of federal law does not render the lease contract unenforceable under all circumstances. Green Cross Med., 242 Ariz. at 298, ¶ 17. 
C.	Violations
A registered qualifying patient may not directly, or through his designated caregiver, obtain more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana from registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensaries in any 14-day period. A.R.S. § 36-2816(A). A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary or agent may not dispense, deliver or otherwise transfer marijuana to a person other than another registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, a registered qualifying patient or a registered qualifying patient's registered designated caregiver. A.R.S. § 36-2816(B). A registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary may not acquire usable marijuana or mature marijuana plants from any person other than another registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary, a registered qualifying patient or a registered designated caregiver. 
A knowing violation of this subsection is a class 2 felony. A.R.S. § 36-2816(C). It is a class 1 misdemeanor for any person, including an employee or official of the department or another state agency or local government, to breach the confidentiality of information obtained pursuant to this chapter. A.R.S. § 36-2816(D).  Making false statements to a law enforcement official about any fact or circumstance relating to the medical use of marijuana to avoid arrest or prosecution is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $500, which will l be in addition to any other penalties that may apply for making a false statement or for the use of marijuana other than use undertaken pursuant to this chapter. A.R.S. § 36-2816 (E).
D.	Discrimination
No school or landlord may refuse to enroll or lease to and may not otherwise penalize a person solely for his status as a cardholder, unless failing to do so would cause the school or landlord to lose a monetary or licensing related benefit under federal law or regulations. A.R.S. § 36-2813(A).  
In State v. Maestas, 244 Ariz. 9 (2018), ASC held that A.R.S.§ 15-108(A) (making it a criminal offense to use or possess marijuana on any public university or college) violates the Voter Protection Act and is unconstitutional as applied to AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use by a university student. The Court rejected the State’s argument that the AMMA’s anti-discrimination provision, A.R.S. § 36-2813(A), authorizes the legislature to criminalize AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use on public college and university campuses to preserve federal funding. Id., ¶ 21. 
The Court explained that first, although § 36-2813(A) authorizes a school to penalize a cardholder to preserve federal funding, a school is not authorized to enact criminal laws; thus, any authority vested in a school under this statute does not extend to criminalizing AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use. Id., ¶ 22. Second, even if § 36-2813(A) authorizes the legislature to take action to preserve federal funding, criminalizing AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use is impermissible because it is unnecessary to achieve the statute’s purpose. Although a university can comply with federal funding requirements by implementing a program to prevent the use of illicit drugs which includes prohibiting unlawful possession of illicit drugs, describing applicable legal sanctions under local, state, or federal law for unlawful possession of illicit drugs, and referring violators for prosecution, a university does not have to guarantee prosecution for violations of its program. ASC noted that a university can refer violations of its program to the federal prosecutor. ASC concluded that because the State failed to show that a university would lose federal funding if a state prosecutor did not prosecute violations of the university’s program, § 36-2813(A) does not authorize the legislature to criminalize AMMA-compliant marijuana possession or use on public university and college campuses to preserve federal funding. Id., ¶¶ 21-23. 
A.R.S. § 36-2813(B) provides that unless a failure to do so would cause an employer to lose a monetary or licensing related benefit under federal law or regulations, an employer may not discriminate against a person in hiring, termination or imposing any term or condition of employment or otherwise penalize a person based upon either: (1) the person's status as a cardholder; or (2) a registered qualifying patient's positive drug test for marijuana components or metabolites, unless the patient used, possessed or was impaired by marijuana on the premises of the place of employment or during the hours of employment. 
For the purposes of medical care, including organ transplants, a registered qualifying patient's authorized use of marijuana must be considered the equivalent of the use of any other medication under the direction of a physician and does not constitute the use of an illicit substance or otherwise disqualify a registered qualifying patient from medical care. A.R.S. § 36-2813(C). A registered qualifying patient may not assert a private cause of action against his treating physician for an alleged violation of § 36-2813(C). Gersten v. Sun Pain Mgmt., P.L.L.C., 242 Ariz. 301, 302, ¶ 1 (App. 2017). 
No person may be denied custody of or visitation or parenting time with a minor, and there is no presumption of neglect or child endangerment for conduct allowed under this chapter, unless the person's behavior creates an unreasonable danger to the safety of the minor as established by clear and convincing evidence. A.R.S. § 36-2813(D). 	 
E.	Acts Not Required or Prohibited; Facility Restrictions 
Under A.R.S. § 36-2814(A), nothing in AMMA requires: 
1. A government medical assistance program, a private health insurer or a workers' compensation carrier or self-insured employer providing workers' compensation benefits to reimburse a person for costs associated with the medical use of marijuana.

2. Any person or establishment in lawful possession of property to allow a guest, client, customer or other visitor to use marijuana on or in that property.

3. An employer to allow the ingestion of marijuana in any workplace or any employee to work while under the influence of marijuana, except that a registered qualifying patient shall not be considered to be under the influence of marijuana solely because of the presence of metabolites or components of marijuana that appear in insufficient concentration to cause impairment.

A.R.S. § 36-2814(B) provides that nothing in AMMA chapter prohibits an employer from disciplining an employee for ingesting marijuana in the workplace or working while under the influence of marijuana. 
Under A.R.S. § 36-2805(A), any nursing care institution, hospice, assisted living center, assisted living facility, assisted living home, residential care institution, adult day health care facility or adult foster care home licensed under title 36, chapter 4 (Health Care Institutions), may adopt reasonable restrictions on the use of marijuana by their residents or persons receiving inpatient services, including: (1) that the facility will not store or maintain the patient's supply of marijuana; (2) that the facility, caregivers or hospice agencies serving the facility's residents are not responsible for providing the marijuana for qualifying patients; (3) that marijuana be consumed by a method other than smoking; and (4) that marijuana be consumed only in a place specified by the facility. A.R.S. § 36-2805(B) provides that nothing in this section requires a facility listed in subsection A to adopt restrictions on the medical use of marijuana. Under A.R.S. § 36-2805(C), a facility listed in subsection A may not unreasonably limit a registered qualifying patient's access to or use of marijuana authorized under this chapter unless failing to do so would cause facility to lose a monetary or licensing-related benefit under federal law or regulations.
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